List of Bharat Ratna Awards Winners

The Bharat Ratna Award  is the highest Civilian Award of the Republic India . Instituted on 2 January 1954, the award is conferred in exceptional work in various fields like – Art , Literature, Science, Public Service, & Sports.  

List of Bharat Ratna Awards Winners

List of Bharat Ratna Awards Winners – 

  1. Chakravarti Rajagopalachari (1954): The last Governor-General of India 

  2. Sarvapalli Radhakrishnan (1954): India’s first Vice President and second President  
  3. Chandra Sekhar Venkata Raman (1954): Physicist renowned for his work in light scattering
  4. Bhagwan Das (1955):  Founder of the Kashi Vidyapith
  5. Mokshagundam Visvesvaraya (1955): Eminent engineer known for his contributions to engineering.
  6. Jawaharlal Nehru (1955): The First Prime Minister of independent India 
  7. Govind Ballabh Pant (1957): The key architects of modern India, served as the Chief Minister of Uttar Pradesh.
  8. Dhondo Keshav Karve (1958): Social reformer 
  9. Bidhan Chandra Roy (1961): Physician & the Chief Minister of West Bengal.
  10. Purushottam Das Tandon (1961): Prominent figure in the Indian independence movement.
  11. Rajendra Prasad (1962): The first President of India 
  12. Zakir Husain (1963): The third President of India
  13. Pandurang Vaman Kane (1963): Sanskrit scholar
  14. Lal Bahadur Shastri (1966): The second Prime Minister of India, known for his leadership during the Ind-Pak War of 1965.
  15. Indira Gandhi (1971): The first woman Prime Minister of India, played a crucial role in shaping the nation’s political landscape.
  16. Varahagiri Venkata Giri (1975): The fourth President of India.
  17. Kumaraswamy Kamaraj (1976): A key political figure, served as the Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu.
  18. Mother Teresa (1980): Missionary nun and Nobel Peace Prize winner, known for her humanitarian work among the poor and sick.
  19. Vinoba Bhave (1983): Advocate of non violence , best known for the Bhoodan Movement.
  20. Abdul Ghaffar Khan (1987): A Prominent leader in the Indian independence movement.
  21. Marudur Gopalan Ramachandran (1988): Actor & Politician, served as the Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu.
  22. Bhim Rao Ambedkar (1990): Architect of the Indian Constitution and a Follower of social justice & Humanity.
  23. Nelson Mandela (1990): The first black President of South Africa.
  24. Rajiv Gandhi (1991): He, at 41, was one of the youngest elected The prime minister of  India/ Bharat 
  25. Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel (1991): Key figure in the Indian independence movement, he was the first Dupty Prime minister of Independence India 
  26. Morarji  Desai (1991):  The fourth Prime Minister of India.
  27. Maulana Abul Kalam Azad (1992): Scholar & the first Minister of Education in independent India.
  28. Jehangir Ratanji Dadabhai Tata (1992): Industrialist, known for his contributions to Indian industry.
  29. Satyajit Ray (1992): Filmmaker and one of the greatest directors in the history of Indian cinema.
  30. Gulzarilal Nanda (1997):  The interim Prime Minister of India twice.
  31. Aruna Asaf Ali (1997): The first woman to be elected as the Mayor of Delhi.
  32. A.P.J. Abdul Kalam (1997): Renowned scientist , Missile man and the 11th President of India.
  33. M.S. Subbulakshmi (1998):  Classical singer, the first musician ever to be awarded the Bharat Ratna.
  34. Chidambaram Subramaniam (1998):  Politician, and statesman.
  35. Jayaprakash Narayan (1999): Freedom fighter and political leader, played a crucial role during the Emergency in India.
  36. Amartya Sen (1999): Nobel laureate economist known for his work on welfare economics.
  37. Gopinath Bordoloi (1999): The first Chief Minister of Assam.
  38. Ravi Shankar (1999): Sitar virtuoso and a major figure in the popularisation of Indian classical music in the West.
  39. Lata Mangeshkar (2001): Legendary playback singer,  known as the “Nightingale of India.
  40. Bismillah Khan (2001): Shehnai maestro and one of the finest classical musicians in India.
  41. Bhimsen Joshi (2009): Renowned vocalist in Hindustani classical music.
  42. C.N.R. Rao (2014): Eminent chemist and a leading figure in scientific research in India.
  43. Sachin Tendulkar (2014): Cricket legend, widely known as one of the greatest batters in the history of the sport.
  44. Atal Bihari Vajpayee (2015):  10th Prime Minister of India , known for his oratorical skills.
  45. Madan Mohan Malaviya (2015): Educationist and founder of Banaras Hindu University.
  46. Nanaji Deshmukh (2019): Social activist .
  47. Bhupendra Kumar Hazarika (2019): Noted singer, lyricist, and filmmaker, celebrated for his contributions to Indian art and culture.
  48. Pranab Mukherjee (2019): Veteran politician and the 13th President of India.
  49. Karpoori Thakur (2024): Former Chief Minister of Bihar who focused on the upliftment of marginalised communities 
  50. Lal Krishna Advani (2024): Former Minister of Home Affairs who played a pivotal role in the Bharatiya Janata Party’s growth and served as the Deputy Prime Minister of India.   

I hope you like this post – List of Bharat Ratna Awards Winners

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.